RSS Feed

I Miss My Son

Having a son in prison is the hardest thing ever. As much as I try to be a good mother and be there for my baby it’s really hard. Because life is still going on we got bills to pay, we have to take care of ourselves, as well as other children if you have any grown or not it doesn’t matter. But at the same time we have to do things for our children that’s locked up and sometimes even in those instances you have to make a decision… do I send him money or do I visit, do I send him money for phone calls or should I buy him some personal needs… and the list goes on its never ending. Its not only mentally draining but physical as well. You have to remember you don’t just start with them going to jail. you have to remember the crime committed, the court hearings, preliminaries, trials, the jail visits, the money, the phone calls, the crying, explaining what happened, the coming to terms with the fact that your child will be locked up for the rest of their lives or the majority of. I email my son a lot, I send money when I can and I try to remain as supportive as I possibly can. Some people including are incarcerated children think because you’re outside in the free world that its easier and its not. As mothers were used to saving our children and in these situations where they get into legal trouble its nothing that you can do it’s truly out of your hands. And that is terrible on a mother’s mental and physical well being. We go through guilt, we go through the what ifs, what I should’ve did, what I shouldn’t have did, what I could’ve did…we go through all of these tortures. So if you know a mother and her child has been incarcerated no matter if its one year or a hundred years give her some support give her a simple hug we need it.

image

About Shadowluvr2

hey there I am happy to say I am a published author I have a new book out called Black to Light Poetry it's a book based on recovery, bisexuality, love and so much more I have four great-grandchildren, four adult children and I'm just here to live my life. in a more positive way than I used to lol it's time to take better care of ourselves these days..Welcome all!! If you like poetry order my book now I think you'll enjoy https://www.createspace.com/4342151

Leave a Reply

